The Wave

rocksurf

Often in life little things suddenly become big things. This is one of those times.

Our days are often filled with repetitive routines. One of my regular routines is to wave to my neighbour who lives across the street. He’s one of the good guys and the kind of person you’re happy to have as a neighbour. Around the same age, late thirties or early forties. His lawn looks like a golf green,  he’s always playing outside with his two young kids, stops to chat when you’re watering your grass, just a really decent guy. If we happen to cross paths during the day I wave, just a little hello while I’m driving by. You know, the hold-one-hand-up-high-and-pause kind of wave. My wave routine has become second nature and we’ve been doing it for years. My next door neighbour is a complete psychotic, so I consider myself lucky to be able to enjoy moments of sanity with my  neighbour across the street.

Then one day a couple of weeks ago it happened. The wave stopped. A small act that you would assume is relatively inconsequential in the grand scheme of things. Turns out it’s important. The wave has now become meaningful. It’s no longer something little. It’s big. It’s the daily connection between two passing souls and it’s been broken.

My neighbour has been in the hospital for two weeks with liver and kidney failure. Another neighbour came over to tell us about his condition. I sent flowers yesterday. I don’t know if I’ll ever see him again. I don’t know if he is going to live or if he’s going to die. The street is so very quiet without him and my heart aches for his family. It’s very strange on the street without him. It’s just different without his energy there. I keep finding myself looking out my front window at their house. Once last summer we found him slumped over completely unresponsive on his front porch and called 911. They revived him and took him to the hospital. He came over the next day to thank us personally, but we never found out why he was so sick that day. I miss my neighbour. If you can spare some time in your routine tonight, send out good thoughts for him. He needs them-and his family needs him.

I miss the wave.

2 Responses to “The Wave”

  1. Sending prayers and a wave to your neighbor! Namaste _/l\_

Leave a Reply

