A Cabinet of Curiosities

Image

The world is full of astounding things. Look around. My latest discovery of the Leopard Moth reminded me of something that would have definitely secured a spot in a Cabinet of Curiosity.

Generally known as the precursors to museums, Wunderkammer (wonder rooms) or Cabinets of Curiosities as they were later called, would be best described as a collection of extraordinary finds, often a symbolic collection of all things unexplained. The 16th Century Renaissance in Europe was ultimately a time of human exploration and scientific discovery. Collectors, artists, patrons, scientists, alchemists, all attempting to try and categorize things and make sense of the world. Cabinets of Curiosities were an ecclectic assortment of all things they deemed bizarre, foreign antiquities from Asia, archeological finds, relics, strange animals and items of natural history, unexplained phenomena, art, and ethnological discoveries pertaining to various cultural groups.

The WunderWeird in all its glory.

Doing a little digging I discovered the area where I found my Leopard Moth was also called The Gold Coast. It’s the site of over 200 shipwrecks, and the resting place of many a lost treasure. If I’d known that, maybe I’d have swam a little further offshore… I’m always up for a good treasure hunt. Ancient galleons and gold coins, hell yeah. Ironically, I did end up doing a scavenger hunt while I was there. No hidden treasures, but my Leopard Moth was my find for the “strange thing you’ve never seen before” picture. I won that one. Thanks WunderMoth.

Image

Turns out ship travel on the Great Lakes was at an all time high in the 1860’s, and trade runs from Buffalo to Detroit often ended in the area. They would often try to head towards the land in rough storms, many shipwrecked as a result. Some of the deeper waters here revealed a mystery schooner with both masts still standing underwater, and a tug with a  wheel house intact. Exploring a wreck is such an eery feeling. I’ve been scuba diving to a few cool ones, and let me tell you, they’re intense. You just have to be careful not to snag your equipment on sharp corners or get caught in any tight spaces,  you don’t want to end up in the same resting place.

Todays random agenda: Historic quantum connections, cabinets of curiosities, scavenger hunts, shipwrecks, gold coins, leopard moths, and bizarro finds. Such is life. Who can possibly concentrate  with all this exciting stuff going on?  Speaking of ships, a shipmate of mine, well, my apologies, let’s give him his due ranking, he’s actually The Captain of the Dimwits, would definitely back me up on this one. Take a Wunderwander over to his blog sometime. http://thedimwitdiary.com. He’s a character and a half. His brain is all over the place too, up and down and all around. Boring is out people or haven’t you heard?

Life is a crazy roller-coaster ride-get with the program.

What’s in your Cabinet of Curiosities? Might be interesting to see what you WordWunders pull out of your Wunderclosets.

Do you have documentation of something Wunderfully Wacky? Ahoy Mateys! This could be the start of some very interesting conversation. If you send me an address link to your photo(s) in the comments it looks like I can then go in and change them  into pictures from there.

That’s enough use of the word Wunder for one day. Your turn. Bring it on.

8 Responses to “A Cabinet of Curiosities”

  1. Sometimes we will go out walking and I will pick up a rock with odd colorings or etched by the washing out of something softer within it – they sometimes appear to have scenes painted or carved into them.

  2. This inspires me to create my own Cabinet for all of my finds. I am not too sure how pleased my love would be…just more things to dust, but for me, to have a place for these curiosities: a bird’s nest here, a fox bone there, beauitful crystals, and what not. Perhaps it is just the inner hoarder in me…or just my inner curator. Namaste.

    • I feel you on the inner curator, I too love everything unusual and unique-keep collecting Derek and feel free to send me anything unusual in your collection so I can start some interesting cabinet of curiosity discussion and thanks for the follow 🙂

Leave a Reply

