Fukushima

Image

You still there? Hope so, here, let me just swat away those cobwebs…It’s been a while my gaggle of loyal WordPressing wonders, I’ve been working a lot lately because as we all know those bills never stop coming. Meanwhile, as we run around in our personal locolands the world is falling apart as usual. I’m horrified by a lot these days, but this story is particularly scary. Following Fukushima?  Considering the entire Northern Hemisphere is at risk, maybe you should get with the program. 

Let me get you up to speed. The Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Power Plant in Japan is  leaking 300 tons of radioactive water into the ocean daily, and has been since the beginning of the disaster two and a half years ago. Get this, workers at the plant were also somehow accidentally sprayed with radioactive water while waiting on the property for a bus, and many more are dying from cancer. A twelve year veteran of the Tokyo Electric Power Company(Tepco) told the media he believed that there were cover-ups regarding the severity of many issues in Fukushima since the very beginning. That’s the intelligent course of action. Way to go. One hundred times the radiation of Chernobyl, and millions upon millions of lives at risk. Just lie about it. That’ll fix the problem. You can lie about a great many things, but Geiger counter readings don’t happen to be one of them. Unbelievable is an understatement. Decisions like storing countless spent fuel rods in huge pools high above the ground with no thought given to their future disposal methods isn’t too bright either. 

Prime example of why honesty is the best policy. Lies just make things worse and in this case it can’t get much worse than the complete destruction of a planet. If they had just been honest and acknowledged the problems in the beginning, and worked towards  solving the issues instead of burying the problem behind mass conformity and a sickening lack of accountability, we might have had a fighting chance. The older I get the more I come to realize that most of the people running the show in this world of ours don’t have the foggiest. The people who are designated as the best are more often than not the absolute worst. We live in a backwards life my friends, sometimes it’s hard just to keep on peddling, never mind flying off the sides to try and alter the status quo. I’d say the lives of innocent millions would be the perfect opportunity to fly off the bike and do the right thing, but hey that’s just me.

One thing about the Fukushima disaster scares me the most. It’s a dream I had when I was eighteen. It was the end of the world. This yellow and black symbol I didn’t recognize kept flashing. Some sort of nuclear disaster. In my dream I was lying in my bed and I knew  the blast was coming but there was no time to react. I had no time to say goodbye, just enough time to start to feel the waves of radiation as they hit my body, knowing that any second I would be gone forever, and there was nothing I could do about it. I lay there completely paralyzed and waited for the inevitable, and then I woke up. Relief swept over me, I was still alive, but I had this strange ominous feeling that mankind would ultimately destroy themselves by their own hands as I lay there and watched the sunrise that morning. It was such a powerful dream. I’ve never forgotten it. I went to the computer to see if I could find the strange yellow and black flashing symbol from my dream.

It was the symbol for radiation. 

Leave a Reply

